Oct 30: Jeepers Creepers

Jeepers Creepers, where’d you get those peepers? Jeepers Creepers, where’d you get those eyes?

30_jeepersCreepers01

Before Viewing: Jeepers Creepers (2001) freaked my wife and I out a lot when we first saw it on video. I recall the brother and sister driving through the country being stalked by the big menacing truck, and the flying Creeper.

The trailer reminded me of why they were being stalked in the first place; due to the fact that they had seen a body being dumped. Other than that, I think I’ve blocked a lot of this out. So i’m ready to get some chills again and watch Jeepers Creepers!

Presented below is the Trailer for the film.

After Viewing: This is a great horror film for a number of reasons. I think the setting and mood produced by the locations are extremely creepy. Justin Long, who played Darry, does a great job as a freaked out student. And the monster just gets weirder and weirder, while not learning too much about it.

You’ve got something it likes… one of you.” – Jezelle

By the end of the film, we’re not sure what the Creeper is or why he does what he does. The best explanation we have is from the psychic lady that tells Darry that every 23 springs, for 23 days it has to feast on people for what it needs. I think the best horror films do not over-explain their monsters. After half a dozen Nightmare on Elm Street films, is there really anything scary about Freddy Krueger anymore?

The Creeper is menacing, because he is weird. At first he seems to be just a crazy in a big truck, dumping dead bodies in a hole. But then we learn he’s some sort of creature. Then we see his ability to fly! What’s great about this film, is that the trailer only gave you some sense of the terror of the film, but never revealed anything.

30_jeepersCreepers02

You know the part in scary movies when somebody does something really stupid, and everybody hates them for it? This is it.” – Trish

I also think this film is good because the characters recognize the elements of a scary film. Those films where characters have seen the spooky barn, and the killer in the attic, and realize that it would be dumb for them to go inside make for smarter more intense horror films.

It’s been awhile since I saw the 2nd film in this franchise, which gives more of the back story to the Creeper, if I recall. But if you’re interested, the third film in this series premiered 2 nights ago on SyFy Channel. So check it out, of you dare!

One thought on “Oct 30: Jeepers Creepers

  1. I remember being scared of “Jeepers” until we found out he was a monster, then I wasn’t as worried about him. I was still grossed out but I think part of me wanted him to just be a crazy person because my odds of bumping into them IRL are much higher than a real monster. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment